Four players who won’t be returning to UTSA

There are at least four players who were on UTSA’s spring roster, but won’t be returning to UTSA this year.

The most devastating for the majority of Roadrunner fans is defensive back David Farris who will be joining the Texas State Bobcats this fall. He becomes the second player to leave UTSA for rival Texas State. Farris only recorded one tackle in the Spring Game, but had 16 tackles and an interception in the eight fall scrimmages. Texas State has released its roster for the 2011 football season, but neither Farris nor Blakemore are currently listed.

UTSA will be losing another defensive back in Collin Simpson, who has reportedly transferred to Baylor. We have not received any confirmation on whether or not he will be a member of the Baylor Bears football team this fall.

At a position where we were already lacking depth, offensive lineman Robert Chapman has left UTSA to pursue a walk-on spot at Texas A&M. By my count, this leaves UTSA with only 10 or 11 offensive lineman, which could be an issue for the Roadrunners going forward.

Lastly, linebacker Ethan Hiser has left UTSA to play at Hardin-Simmons University, which competes in NCAA Division III.

Published by

Darrell Williams

Darrell started writing about UTSA football before it was even a thing, then he took a few years off, and now he's back.

One thought on “Four players who won’t be returning to UTSA”

Comments are closed.